About Us

District 3830 History

By PDG Sonny Coloma, RC Alabang

District 3830 became a separate administrative territory of Rotary International on July 1, 1999, covering the cities of Makati, Taguig, Pateros, Paranaque, Muntinlupa and Las Pinas, and the province of Palawan. It was carved out of District 3810 that now covers the cities of Manila and Pasay, and the provinces of Cavite and Mindoro Occidental.District 3810 used to be District 381 until July 1, 1988 when Rotary International shifted from a three-digit to a four-digit system of numbering its districts in order to accommodate the growth of the organization. It was at this juncture that the membership of RI passed the million-member mark.
As defined in the RI Manual of Procedure: “A district is a geographical area in which Rotary clubs are combined for RI administrative purposes. The activities and organization of a Rotary district shall exist solely to help the individual club advance the Object of Rotary and should not tend to diminish the services provided by Rotary clubs and individual Rotarians on the local level.” (Rotary Code of Policies17.010.1)

A District’s history necessarily begins with the history of its oldest club. In the case of District 3810, for instance, its oldest club is the Rotary Club of Manila, Asia’s first Rotary club. Hence, District 3810’s history flows from the time RC Manila was established in 1919. From then on, the entire Philippines became a separate District of RI.
Three Rotarians from the current District 3830 served as District Governors when there was only one RI district for the entire island of Luzon : Antonio Tambunting, Jr. of the Rotary Club of Makati West in RY 1976-1977; Rafael Hechanova of the Rotary Club of Makati in RY 1979-1980, and Roberto Montinola of the Rotary Club of Makati in RY 1982-1983. Presently, there are six Rotary districts in Luzon. Two districts 3770 (Cagayan Valley and half of Central Luzon) and 3790 (Ilocos, Cordillera, and half of Central Luzon) share the territory north of Metro Manila. The National Capital Region is covered by three districts: 3780 ( Quezon City ), 3800 (northern and eastern Metro Manila and Rizal province), 3810 and 3830. The rest of Luzon (excluding the provinces of Cavite , Mindoro Occidental and Palawan ), including the entire Southern Tagalog (Region IV) and Bicol (Region V) regions, is covered by District 3820.

The history of District 3810 begins with the creation of its oldest club in 1953, the Rotary Club of Puerto Princesa in Palawan island-province. The Rotary Club of Makati , the first of the more than 30 clubs in the country’s financial and business center, was established in 1966 by the Rotary Club of Pasay that was formed in 1959. The Rotary Club of Parañaque, the first of 16 clubs in that city, was formed in 1975 by the Rotary Club of University District Manila that became only the second club in the city of Manila in 1972, or 53 long years after RC Manila was formed. The Rotary Club of Rizal West was formed in 1980 and it spearheaded the formation of other clubs in the Taguig-Pateros area. Rotary Club of Las Piñas was established in 1980, spurring the formation of 6 other clubs in the city.
RI District 3830’s Council of Governors presently includes incumbent District Governor Jose “Pepz” Bengzon III of RC Makati, District Governor-Elect Edna Sutter of RC Fort Bonifacio Global City, District Governor Nominee Edwin “Ed” Afzelius of RC Alabang, and the following Past District Governors:

Year of Service Governor Club
1976-1977 Antonio “Jun” Tambunting, Jr. RC Makati West
1979-1980 Rafael “Paing” Hechanova RC Makati
1982-1983 Roberto “Bert” Montinola RC Makati
1986-1987 Antonio “Tony” Rufino RC Makati West
1988-1989 Oscar “Oskie” de Venecia RC Makati West
1989-1990 Herman Gamboa RC Paranaque
1992-1993 Jose “Joey” Benedicto RC Makati Central
1993-1994 Leopoldo “Leo” de Guzman RC Alabang
1996-1997 Wilfredo “Willy” Segovia RC Makati Central
1997-1998 Jocelyn “Joc-Joc” Bolante RC Parañaque South
1998-1999 Herminio “Sonny” Coloma RC Alabang
1999-2000 Guiller Tumangan RC Makati West
2000-2001 Hugo “Jun” Perez RC Paranaque Central
2001-2002 Ernesto “Ernie” Salas RC Makati North
2002-2003 Romeo “Romy” Cruz RC Palanyag Paranaque
2004-2005 Antonio “Tony” Quila RC Makati
2005-2006 Jaime “Jimmy” Cura RC Rizal West
2006-2007 Rafael “Butch” Francisco RC Makati Central
2007-2008 Renato “Ato” Magadia RC Makati North
2008-2009 Edgardo “Boyet” Limon RC Parañaque South
2009-2010 Isidro “Sid” Garcia RC Makati
2010-2011 Eduardo “Ed” Alvarez RC Makati West
2011-2012 Ismael “Billy” Villareal RC Makati EDSA
2012-2013 Suzanne “Sue” Sta. Maria RC Makati Southeast
2013-2014 Robert Kuan RC Makati
2014-2015 Angelito “Lito” Colona RC Makati Legazpi
2015-2016 Jose "Pepz" Bengzon III RC Makati
2016-2017 Edna Sutter RC Fort Bonifacio

Jose “Jun” Cortez, who served in RY 2003-2004, passed away in 2007.
Rafael “Paing” Hechanova served as Director of Rotary International from 1996 to 1998. In 2004 to 2006, Jocelyn “Joc-Joc” Bolante served as RI Director and was RI Treasurer in RY 2005-2006. Presently, Daumonguiller “Guiller” Tumangan is serving as Director of Rotary International.